Who will win the US Open in 2020? Odds, betting favorites, expert picks


The U.S. Open has a clear favorite to win its 2020 event.

Dustin Johnson is the clear favorite to win this event following a monster outing in the 2020 FedEx Cup playoffs, in which he won both The Northern Trust and Tour Championship, but also finished second (by a stroke) in the BMW Championship. He seemed unstoppable as he became the 2019-20 PGA golfer of the year, and he’ll look to continue that incredible run of dominance in the COVID-19-affected season.

Of course, there are plenty of golfers who would love to knock him off his perch; likely contenders to do that are Jon Rahm and Justin Thomas, who nipped at Johnson’s heels throughout the playoffs and ended up finishing tied for second. Then there’s Collin Morikawa, who won the 2020 PGA Championship

MORE: Get the latest U.S. Open odds from Sports Insider

With that, here’s everything you need to know to bet on the 2020 U.S. Open, including odds and past winners:

Who will win the U.S. Open in 2020?

Johnson, the top-ranked golfer in the world following his 2020 FedEx Cup playoffs win, is the favorite to win the 2020 U.S. Open; That said, there are plenty of golfers right on his trail in terms of betting odds.

Rahm (world No. 2) enters at with the second-best chances to win the event; he is the only player other than Johnson to win a 2020 playoffs event, engaging him in an epic battle to steal a playoff win in the 2020 BMW Championship. Those two are followed by Thomas (No. 3), Xander Schauffele (No. 9) and Collin Morikawa (No. 5).

U.S. Open odds 2020

Johnson is the standalone favorite to win the U.S. Open at +800 odds. He’s followed by Rahm (+1000), Thomas and Schauffele (both +1400) and Morikawa (+1600). Other notable golfers include Rory mcIlroy at +1600, Bryson DeChambeau (+2500) and Tiger Woods (+3300). Last year’s winner, Gary Woodland, enters at +6600 odds to win. Below are the odds to win the 2020 U.S. Open, per Sports Insider:

  • Dustin Johnson (+800)
  • Jon Rahm (+1000)
  • Justin Thomas (+1400)
  • Xander Schauffele (+1400)
  • Collin Morikawa (+1600)
  • Rory McIlroy (+1600)
  • Bryson DeChambeau (+2500)
  • Webb Simpson (+2500)
  • Daniel Berger (+2800)
  • Hideki Matsuyama (+2800)
  • Patrick Cantlay (+2800)
  • Jason Day (+3300)
  • Patrick Reed (+3300)
  • Tiger Woods (+3300)
  • Tommy Fleetwood (+3300)
  • Tony Finau (+3300)
  • Tyrrell Hatton (+3300)
  • Adam Scott (+4000)
  • Justin Rose (+5000)
  • Matthew Fitzpatrick (+5000)
  • Matthew Wolff (+5000)
  • Paul Casey (+5000)
  • Rickie Fowler (+5000)
  • Viktor Hovland (+5000)
  • Gary Woodland (+6600)
  • Harris English (+6600)
  • Louis Oosthuizen (+6600)
  • Phil Mickelson (+6600)
  • Sungjae Im (+6600)
  • Abraham Ancer (+8000)
  • Brendon Todd (+8000)
  • Jordan Spieth (+8000)
  • Kevin Kisner (+8000)
  • Martin Kaymer (+8000)
  • Sergio Garcia (+8000)
  • Shane Lowry (+8000)
  • Billy Horschel(+8000)

2020 U.S. Open prop bets

The U.S. Open has odds for more than just who will win the tournament; there are several prop bets, ranging from whether a golfer will register a hole in one, whether there will be a playoff (and, if so, how many players) and more. Below are the prop bets for the 2020 U.S. Open, provided courtesy of Sports Insider:

Winning Nationality

Albatross registered

Hole in one registered

Playoff featuring 3 or more players

Round 1 hole in one

Playoff needed

Left-handed winner

Winning Margin

  • One shot (+240)
  • Four-plus (+325)
  • Playoff (+325)
  • Two shots (+375)
  • Three shots (+500)

Wire-to-wire winner

U.S. Open winners by year

Woodland won the 2019 U.S. Open with a 13-under-par 271, tied for the second-best score since 2010. Koepka won the prior two matchups with scores of 1-over and 16-under par, respectively; but the last golfer to win at the Winged Foot Golf Course is Geoff Ogilvy, who won in 2006 with a 5-over-par 285. Below are the winners of the last 20 U.S. Opens, and their winning scores:

YearWinnerScore (to par)
2019Gary Woodland271 (-13)
2018Brooks Koepka281 (+1)
2017Brooks Koepka272 (-16)
2016Dustin Johnson276 (-4)
2015Jordan Spieth275 (-5)
2014Martin Kaymer271 (-9)
2013Justin Rose281 (+1)
2012Webb Simpson281 (+1)
2011Rory McIlroy268 (-16)
2010Graeme McDowell284 (E)
2009Lucas Glover276 (-4)
2008Tiger Woods283 (-1)
2007Angel Cabrera285 (+5)
2006Geoff Ogilvy285 (+5)
2005Michael Campbell280 (E)
2004Retief Goosen276 (-4)
2003Jim Furyk272 (-8)
2002Tiger Woods277 (-3)
2001Retief Goosen276 (-4)
2000Tiger Woods272 (-12)